RSS

Rice salad

03 Apr

For my wedding shower my bridesmaids put together a big recipe scrapbook from all of the lovely women who attended.  I LOVE having it on my shelf; it’s so nice to pull it out and pick a recipe from a loved one and think of them while I make it.  One that I have made numerous times is Aunt Sally Logue’s rice, black bean and feta salad.  I change it around every time I make it, due to what I have in my fridge, but it’s always a great side dish for tacos/fajitas and rotisserie chicken.  Actually, I’ve been known to just eat a bowl of it for lunch, too.

You will need:
1 cup dry rice (I used Jasmine)
1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
1 pint cherry tomatoes, halved or quartered
1 yellow or orange pepper, diced
4 or 5 scallions, sliced thin
1 package crumbled feta cheese
handful chopped cilantro
Italian salad dressing (or something similar)
salt & pepper
*sometimes I throw in celery and cucumber if I have it

Cook your rice according to the package directions.  I like using Jasmine rice because of the yummy flavor, but you could easily use Basmati rice or even Minute rice, it doesn’t really make a difference.  Let the rice cool for around 15 to 20 minutes at room temperature.  Mix in all of the chopped veggies, black beans, feta and cilantro and toss well.  Season with salt and pepper and then start with around 1/4 cup of your salad dressing, then taste and season accordingly.  I like it still a tiny bit warm as well as cold…it’s very versatile.  It’s really yummy and goes with so much.  This is a great side dish to have in your fridge for the week…thanks Aunt Sal!!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 3, 2011 in sides

 

Tags: ,

Leave a comment